All Grain #1 Tucked Away! (Pics)

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

morethanworts

Landlord.
Reaction score
I'd planned to do an extract version of this Belgian Tripel, but stumbled upon a second hand cool box mash tun, got given some copper at the same time [cheers "Gray"], accidentally built a stir plate using a THBF how-to, got a conical for my birthday, bought a second wilkos 18L (more like 16L) stockpot to match my first... and off I go. Warts 'n' all... :cheers:

5.6Kg Weyermann Bohemian Pilsner and 200g Torrefied Wheat:
20130929_104159.jpg

Hoping to end up with 19L in the FV, after a 22.5L one hour boil. I'm basing this around a 55% mash efficiency, seeing it's my first time. I'd already tested the boil off and cooling rates with water, to get a decent idea of what will happen.

15L of 74C strike water just needed around a 400ml top up with boiling water to get 66C in mash tun, which had been preheated. Wrapped up cosy for a 2.5hr mash:
20130929_111857.jpg

I'd already realised that I was not going to be able to fit the 6 or 7L of boiling top up in the tun that would be needed to get a 76C mash out, so I got a couple of big saucepans ready to decoct a portion. Made some lunch, did a couple of jobs...