Am i starting with the right kit?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi, I am totally new to brewing and I have never made a brew, as such, I have decided to start with a basic lager kit.

I have all the fermentation equipment I will need, sanitiser and I am working on collecting the bottles, mainly by drinking lots of lager and cider lol! I will be capping in glass bottles as I have never really liked lager or cider from plastic.

Anyway, I have been doing a large amount of research and I have already got some good advice from the introduction thread. The plan at this stage is to use a Coopers Australian Kit but with a beer enhancer and a larger yeast rather than the yeast that comes with the kit.

I do have a couple of questions though. My lager preference is more a Stella style. I have a feeling this kit will probably be more of a Coors style lager as I have tried a friends brew of this but it was with the supplied yeast and 1kg sugar. I do like it all the same so this is fine, but will my choice of enhance influence the lager style in the direction I want? If so, what mix should I be looking towards in my enhancer to lean more towards the Stella style lager?

Another question, if I brew a little short, say 21ltrs, will this also lean towards the Stella style over the lighter Coors style, or am I miles off in my thinking?

Also, when priming, can I just use household sugar or do I need carbonation drops?

Sorry for so many questions, just like to plan well to get the best out of my brew.

Thanks in advance,
Ian