Beer shelf life in a corny

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 40634

Reaction score
Hi, I’m in my second year of brewing and over this time I have modified my set up and technique using advice from this forum. My beer is has improved a lot thanks to all the insights offered.
Currently I’m transferring beer from the FV to a corny, after which I’ll bottle condition or force carbonate and bottle.
Now I’m thinking of buying a kegerator to save me bottling but I’m not sure what the shelf life of the beer is once I’ve drawn a pint off the carbonated corny in a kegerator.
At present I drink bottles from a batch over several months and the beer usually improves. Any advice is appreciated.

The shelf life is quite long as long as stored at cellar temps or lower. I have had my kegs in cornies for months in fact I have had a Cherry Porter in a corny for over 2 years and draw a pint or two every few months and it still tastes good.
It is like most products hops/malts etc storage at the best temps and conditions prolong life

Think if you are able to keep oxygen away from the beer post fermentation especially for hoppy beers then beer lasts ages in a keg.
Thanks, I’ve just invested in a kegerator so should be able to hold the beer in CO2, so it’s good to hear that the beer should keep a while. Thanks for the advice.

does this apply to porters and stouts