How long will my beer last in kegs?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Berry454

Reaction score
Hi everyone as some of you probably already know I’m very new to beer brewing having brewed wine for many of years.

I picked up some second hand kit including 4 x 19l corny kegs and some other bits. I’m in the process of converting a fridge now.

One thing I didn’t even think of is shelf life. I naturally assumed, like with wine that I would be able to brew up 4 kegs and leave them for 2 years if I wanted without consuming. But it appears that this isn’t the case.

Research that I’ve done so far seems to indicate that homebrew beer lasts for 6-8 weeks in a keg before spoiling.

Surely this can’t be the case? Doesn’t this mean once the keg is first tapped from that it will only last 6-8 weeks?

I mean I would be surprised that even after the keg is tapped that it would only last for such little time. After all the beer is free from oxygen which should hinder bacterial growth.

Has anyone successfully used wine making preservatives such as potassium sorbate or sodium metabisulfite? I will be force carding so I don’t care about naturally carbonating the kegs.

How does this work with kegging sparking wine? Would I be able to use a preservative and how long would it last in storage and once tapped please?

I’m in general looking for how long I can expect my kegs of beer and sparking wine to last before tapped and once tapped?

I do not go with that advice if so how do you lager a Lager which are kept for months before being ready to drink at their best.
I have kept many beers for several months and I had a porter in a keg for 2 years and have just recently finished it.