Best Location ,Place ,Area ?????

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

worthy79

Reaction score
Hi

I am a complete Noob to Home brewing and I'm after some information on where to start ? My friend and i have purchased The Northern Brewer,Brewery in a box Essential Starter Kit. We are looking for advice on the best place to prepare make , brew ,store etc .We are both married and don't want end up in trouble for ruining the kitchen due to some silly mistake so any advice would be appreciated. We have a garage available as well but would like to be sure we get the best results.

Many Thanks
Worthy79:thumb:

I do it in the kitchen, but a few points to bear in mind...
1/ Beer wort is very sticky so needs a good clean up afterwards
2/ Boiling wort is hot as well as sticky. Watch it like a hawk
3/ Moving boiling wort to sink for cold break is heavy and hot.
All in all a recipe for disaster, but touch wood none in the bg home yet
Bg

Brewing in the garage is fine but you need to consider a supply of water and heat. You'll use lots of water for cleaning as well as brewing and this time of year you may struggle to maintain the temp required for fermentation to be successful.
I brew in the kitchen. When I was doing kits this too stayed in the kitchen on a tray in a quiet corner.
I now do ag..still in the kitchen but the finished wort is put into a brew fridge in the garage.
My only "fault" is I have beer bottles everywhere!

Hi