Beyond Basic Kits

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Piemaster

Reaction score
Hi all

I am fairly new to home brewing. So far I have made three kits and all of them have turned out pretty good. I am now thinking about moving beyond a basic kit, and I think the first step would be taking a kit and modifying it in some way. What are the different ways of doing this? The only ideas I can really think of are using a different yeast or experimenting with different types of sugar. Does anyone have any good ideas for things I could try that would make a noticeable impact?

"Dry hopping" is commonly used.

Basically adding hops into the fermenter after the main vigorous fermentation has slowed. This imparts aroma and some flavour to the beer. A quick Google search should provide you with more information.

Also - using dry or liquid malt extract in place of sugar is highly advantageous. You'll get better flavour and body in your beer. Sugar will dry the beer out and provide nothingelse apart from alcohol.

Sounds like you have got the basics techniques under your belt.

Different sugars aren't going to make a lot of difference, yeasts will, as will adding hops...but if you're going to go that far, why not go straight to Extract brewing? Simple recipes like Exmoor Gold just use malt and hops, and IMHO you'll get a far better result than modifying a kit:
http://www.brewuk.co.uk/store/beerkits/ ... -gold.html

Have you thought about dry hopping? I'm new here so don't just take my word for it, but when i used to home brew, I often added dry hops to the mix as I particularly like hoppy beers. Look up on recommended hop varieties.