How to tell when conversion is complete

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

David Woods

Reaction score
The last couple of A/G beers have been disappointing, they have been weak, low FG and low carbonation. I am brewing all grain kits so I am assuming the ingredient quantities are correct and I am keeping very close to the temps and timings. My feeling is that I am going to the boil before conversion is properly completed leaving me with a lot of non fermentable stuff hence low FG and carbonation I batch carb with the same quantities I have used before with no issues but these last couple of brews have been poor - still drinkable but could do a lot better!

As I am still very new to A/G brewing is there a good fool proof way of determining that I have converted properly and got all the good fermentable stuff possible? would mashing longer help? I am not getting too high with the mash temp so not sure what I can do to improve things.

I am using a Brew Monk 30 all in one. If anything the sparge water temp may be a bit low.

Any help would be great.

I initially read the title as “when conversation is over” which in our house is when the missus has stopped talking.

Seriously, though…. By low FG I assume you mean high FG or low OG ?
Are you hitting pre boil gravity ?

Carbonation depends on the amount of sugar you put in the bottle or barrel and is independent of the FG of the beer.

what temp is mash at
How long.
Do you re-circulate with the pump during mash
Are you mixing in the grains well so no dough balls which will not convert fully if so
Iodine test is the way to check for full conversion
Are the brews different styles and what yeast and temp do you ferment at
Answer these and we will all be able to be more accurate in our assessments to helpathumb..