Bottle conditioning question

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All
I’ve done around 18x AG brews now and not many repeat brews so a rather random mix with only one that was let’s say a little niche.
So very pleased so far.
All my brews are 4-5.5% and nothing really out there in recipes or techniques as I’m still learning. Pales, bitters, stouts and a couple of fest beers.
The element I’m puzzled by is the length of time each takes to come to its best? And not necessarily clear I mean tasting finished. The Greg Hughes book quotes ready to drink times of 4-5weeks but personally I’m finding most are not really good before 4 weeks after bottling so usually 7weeks plus.
So outside of super strong, sours etc. is there are normal period you would expect a batch to be out of the “green” period and resembling the target taste?

For bottle conditioned I find seven to eight weeks, (that being said I mostly keg my lower ABV beers these days and leave bottling for the 6% plus beers, and they do seem to condition a lot faster in a keg a 4% session bitter for example I find will be perfectly drinkable at two weeks and excellent at four).

What a good question.

There isn't a magic number 4 - 6 weeks is an average. I have a few bottles that are a few years old (5ish I think) and they are JUST starting to go over.

Your taste buds well vary, the mash varies, the ingredients vary, the weights vary, the hops vary.. I am sure you are where I am going with this 😁

What a good question.

There isn't a magic number 4 - 6 weeks is an average. I have a few bottles that are a few years old (5ish I think) and they are JUST starting to go over.

Your taste buds well vary, the mash varies, the ingredients vary, the weights vary, the hops vary.. I am sure you are where I am going with this 😁