Brown ale

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newbrewermax

Reaction score
Ive been enjoying doing homebrew ale for a few months and all going well I'm doing a brown ale for first time stared it 3 days ago and hasn't bubbled once I'm sitting next It and usually they start bubbling 24 72 after prep how long should I wait before buying or thinking about adding extra yeast any advice is this normal

Bubbling is not a reliable way of confirming fermentation. Is there any foam on top of the brew which is a more reliable sign of fermentation or try tightening the lid and airlock as the co2 sometimes finds leaks and bypasses the airlock giving the impression of no fermentation.

Bubbling is not a reliable way of confirming fermentation. Is there any foam on top of the brew which is a more reliable sign of fermentation or try tightening the lid and airlock as the co2 sometimes finds leaks and bypasses the airlock giving the impression of no fermentation.
Can't see any signs of foaming either

So, I think that will be Gervin / Nottingham yeast, so I would have expected it to have kicked off by now. What temp is it at?
Gotta be at least 20/21c it's in living room by radiator on heat pad my other different batch I did just before that one been bubbling good for days and isnt as close to raidiator or on heat pad

It's not worth messing about. Sprinkle another sachet of yeast over the surface and let it do its stuff.
Have you got any yeast?
Is there a homebrew shop near you?
I'd try to get it in there tomorrow if nothing happens overnight. But if you've got a spare, bung it in now.

It's not worth messing about. Sprinkle another sachet of yeast over the surface and let it do its stuff.
Have you got any yeast?
Is there a homebrew shop near you?
I'd try to get it in there tomorrow if nothing happens overnight. But if you've got a spare, bung it in now.