Priming old cider bottles?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

samthor.

Reaction score
I've got a festival german weis currently brewing at 24c and will be bottling once it stops bubbling as I dont own a hydrometer. I cannot afford a barrel so ive saved up some 1.5 and 2.5 litre plastic cider bottles. My question is how much sugar do I use to prime these bottles? I'm only a beginner so im abit lost also, how long do I have to wait before its drinkable? I will be putting the bottles outside in the shed after priming so it will be quite cold compared to its current temp of 24c

Are the bottles airtight when closed?

Edit - maybe I was overthinking what you meant by old cider bottles , I had some rustic artisan clay pot in mind!!

do you mean supermarket PET bottles with screw caps?

Edit - maybe I was overthinking what you meant by old cider bottles , I had some rustic artisan clay pot in mind!!

Yes, the plastic ones, had a laugh at the idea of some old clay ones!

Well depending on how fizzy you like your cider I would probably use 1 TSP for the 1.5 and 1.5 teaspoon for the larger bottles. There are a few calculators available if you Google.

One suggestion is to batch prime if you can. Work out how much sugar you need and add to the whole batch , then it will be equally distributed no matter size of bottles.

Secondary fermentation should take 2 weeks and you should start to feel the bottles getting hard after 4 days (at 20 degrees ish).

I now leave my bottle beers.for a minimum of 14 days in a fridge after they have firmed up but used to drink them straight after.

Try a few at different intervals and see how the taste changes

Screenshot_2023-11-06-20-31-45-749_com.warpkode.brewfather.jpg

I will be putting the bottles outside in the shed after priming so it will be quite cold compared to its current temp of 24c