Confused newbie

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grumpy Tim

Reaction score
Hi everyone I'm new to home brew my beer is at the bottling stage the question is can I use granulated sugar to prime the beer in the bottles. Also do I need finnings and what exactly is this. Hopefully you good people can help. Tim

Yes you can use granulated sugar, not to confuse matters but different sugars require different amounts( but you can ignore that at this stage) finings are not needed at this stage in my opinion. If your all grain brewing you can add them at the end of boil, if your bottling a kit I wouldn't worry.

Welcome to the forum.
Yes granulated sugar is fine for carbonating the beer. Finings are generally used before bottling along with dropping the temperature of the beer to clear it ready for bottling or kegging

Tim, if you're local to the West Midlands you're welcome to join us over at New Invention Brewery 2nd Sat of the month for brew club, next meet is this Sat 8th July.

We're a local group who meet up at 12pm till 2pm, tastings and monthly beer challenge. We tend to stick around for most of the rest of the afternoon.

Brewery in is Bloxwich, WS3 3JS

Graham

If you're transferring to a bottling bucket you can use an online calculator to guide how much sugar you use. I let it dissolve in boiled water before adding before transfer.

https://www.brewersfriend.com/beer-priming-calculator/
If you're bottling straight from the fermenter I would use the carbonation drops, personally. Must be a faff spooning sugar into individual bottles.

Took me a while to figure out my routine.

Hi everyone I'm new to home brew my beer is at the bottling stage the question is can I use granulated sugar to prime the beer in the bottles. Also do I need finnings and what exactly is this. Hopefully you good people can help. Tim