Coopers Australian Pale Ale Can - What exactly did I buy?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AntComo

Reaction score
Hi guys! Newbie here.

I'm yet to do my first batch as I'm waiting on a delivery of some bits. However I found the Coopers range in the supermarket here of all places and picked one up having been promised by the can that 'everything' was included.

Obviously not everything is included at all, and seeing as the instructions are only available once you destroy the packaging I was disappointed to learn that a lot of assumptions are made by the producers.

Anyway, after finding some phone signal and searching online this forum once again came to my aid in explaining that what's missing is the fermentable, and whilst plain white sugar can be used (as well as a lot of other combinations of sugars recommended by much more experienced brewers) it left me wondering what the hell did I actually buy??

I presume this is a can of pre-hopped LME judging by the videos I've seen. But then why ask me to buy extra sugar and materials to add to it? There are already sugars in the LME so why not make the can bigger and include enough for the batch? Or am I missing something here?

A cynic might think they want you to buy the 'recommended Beer Enhancer 2 by Coopers' which is written on the side of the can. By 'recommended' they probably mean 'essential' but hey-ho...

So I've resigned to ordering the Brewing Enhancer but it still leaves me wondering what it is I have in my hands. Is this just the LME from a recipe that also requires DME that I need to buy separately? And if so I have to wonder how many of these cans they can possibly sell at the supermarket when they don't stock the DME...