which irish stout and pale ale extract recipe to use?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mancer62

Landlord.
Reaction score
I am no expert in the field of home brew recipes and will never claim to be. I however have some ingredients available that I would like to tweak a couple of kits I have and would like some advice and input if possible. I plan to make two extract kits 5 gallons {a}Coopers Irish Stout and {b} Mangrove Jack NZ series American Pale Ale. Both 1.7kg extract kits.
I will list options below for each and will take advice and possible ABV suggestions {I would like to achieve somewhere around 5%} I may roughly expect from each recipe. I would appreciate any recipe suggestions only with the ingredients that I currently have which would be a big help rather than suggest I go out and buy something else. I want to utilise what I have to hand right now.

Irish Stout Ingredients: 1 x 1.7kg Coopers Irish Stout Extract Kit...1kg Brown Sugar...500g Dark DME...454g tin of Black Treacle.

Suggestion A. Suggestion B
1.7kg Coopers Irish Stout 1.7kg Coopers Irish Stout
500g DME 500 DME
500g or 750g Brown Sugar 750g or 1kg Brown Sugar
227g Black Treacle 454g Black Treacle

Mangrove Jack NZ Series American Pale Ale Ingredients: 1.7kg Mangrove Jack American Pale Ale Kit...1kg Brown Sugar...100g IH033 hops (which I will use to dry hop) I know nothing about these hops and I got them cheap in a lucky dip from a home brew supplier.

Suggestion
1.7kg Mangrove Jack Kit
1kg Brown Sugar
100g IH033

My main query about this brew is the hop and how much to use it and will it go with the pale ale and maybe what to expect from it. I only use hops in dry hopping so do u recommend I use all 100gs?
As always look forward to replies tyvm