First attempt at wine

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trucker5685

Reaction score
Hi guys

Bought a Solomon Grundy 7 day peach wine kit to try as it's my first attempt at wine, although it's taken longer than 7 days, didn't rush it.
Just racked it off the sediment and gonna bottle it soon. Doesn't taste too bad either but I'm amazed at the strength!

From the readings I've taken it's 14.6% :drunk:
I'm thinking of running my car on it lol

Chippy_Tea said:
Planning. Open to suggestions

Have a look at this thread, supermarket juice wine in my opinion is as good if not better than cheap kits and its much cheaper to make. viewtopic.php?f=41&t=39846

Thanks for that Chippy, I'll try one of those in the near future, SWMBO came in with strawberry wine kit today so that's gone into the spare dj, I'll have to get some more

If you have a hydrometer you can stop it early it will be sweeter and a little less strong or you can let it ferment fully then stabilise and add sugar to sweeten it to taste.

Chippy_Tea said:
If you have a hydrometer you can stop it early it will be sweeter and a little less strong or you can let it ferment fully then stabilise and add sugar to sweeten it to taste.

Thanks for the advice, I've got a hydrometer, what would be ideal to stop it at?

I may PM you when I start it if that's ok, just to make sure I'm doing it right, newbie at wine

Personally I would let it finish its fermentation then sweeten it to taste. Trying to stop it at just the right sweetness is a bit hit and miss and I believe you can get a few off flavours too.

If you have used a fermentation stopper/stabilizer then you can use sugar to sweeten. If not then use a non fermentable sweetener like Splenda.

OldPeculier said: