Fruit fly problem

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BarryW

Reaction score
I am a novice brewer of cider, having made my first batch a couple of years ago with moderate success. This year, I am trying again! I have 35 litres of hard cider coming to the end of a first fermentation period. I have a problem with fruit flies, some of which have got into my fermentation tubs. Will this ruin my finished product? Do I skim them off the top immediately or is it too late? Having googled the problem, the conclusion seems to be that they are harmless but I'm not convinced.
Thanks

They like my beer too. I think they're fairly harmless as they're mostly attracted to fermenting fruit anyway, but there is always a risk of infection. If they're removed or if it's racked before they start to decompose I think it'll be mostly OK

Eeeeeeek ashock1
They are your friends as they carry yeast into the ferment.
Not friends I plan to introduce to my brews. They live in rotting fruit and coo/sheep poo up here!

I have had minor wild yeast and bacterial infection that I suspect was due to this in the past. Spoilage infections are not nice or cost effective. Insect screens and my due diligence are the friends my EHO likes.

Zap em all,,,,, :cool: :tongue:

Stop leaving bananas out. Put potatoes in the fridge. Buy a bug zapper. But the most effective way of getting rid of them is a cup of vinegar with clingfilm over the opening. Pierce a small hole in the middle. They get in ok but struggle to get out. After a few days, it's like a flies graveyard in there.

I like the idea of the traps that where mentioned, we have employed this method before.