Growing Hops from Rhizome

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BradleyW

Regular.
Reaction score
Evening all. I was wondering if anyone had any experience of growing hops from rhizomes ? And if they wouldn't mind giving some tips to a complete novice? I'm opting for Cascade and Chinook because I've read they handle the heat a bit better (gets proper scorchio here in summer), but other than that I haven't got a scooby! Thanks to all as always acheers.

Cheers mate! Had a quick butchers and I'm at 41 degrees so should be ok :)
Just make sure the soil is good, enrich it to start with and give good layers of compost every year. South America falls well within the zone but I have never heard of any South American hops.

Long thread here, all you need to know provided you just plod through it.
https://www.thehomebrewforum.co.uk/threads/hop-plants-rhizomes-growing-report.69518/
If you are in a hot area you will need to keep the plants well watered, they are thirsty. I nearly lost mine last year on a hot day when temperatures went above 30*C (mine are only dwarf First Gold and in large pots)
I suggest you have a go. If it works fine, If it doesn't so be it.
But be aware even in the UK it takes three seasons for the hop plants to attain their maximum potential.

Cheers mate! Had a quick butchers and I'm at 41 degrees so should be ok :)
I understand you live in an apartment Brad, if you do go down the 'pot' route, they will escape via the bottom of the pot that is the rhizome nature. As your climate can be severe heat, black pots are a 'no no' paint them white otherwise you will cook the rhizome. Lots of people here in Oz have discovered that.