Hi new member equipped with idiotic questions

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mjgclutch

Reaction score
I have posted on here before, after I put my yeast in the freezer and wondered why my beer went moldy when I pitched it! A mistake I won't make again at yeast.

Anyhow.

I started brewing at the start of last year, starting with the basic set up using kits. Starting with the coopers English bitter which came as part of the starter pack. Extremely average 2.5% fizzy water. I then tried St Peter's stout kit, as recommended by my local supplier. This turned out to be my first decent beer. Not quite right, but perfectly drinkable, and at 3.5% (I think). At this point I was already considering full grain, but decided to make an US IPA, which allowed me to dry hop, giving a bit of introductory extra control. Again, this was as perfectly decent beer, and went down v well with my house mates. I still wasn't satisfied, so the decision to upgrade to full grain was an easy one (no interest in trying extract).

I bought the most basic kit possible, consisting of Mash turn, digital boiler and copper cooling coil. Again, to keep things simple, I bought some made up repica full grain packages (Landlord, Thornbridge Oatmeal Stout and Kernel DIPA (citra). The first two made excellent beer, despite me winging it when it comes to water chemistry, and DIPA was the aforementioned moldy beer (not so nice).

That was 6 months ago, and I haven't brewed since. My alcoholic flat mate kept nicking it, which became annoying. He couldn't remember doing it, so can't exactly have a go at him!

I've moved house now, and I have a garage (soon to be renamed as the brewery) so it is time to crank up and take things more seriously!!