How have your taste buds changed?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Duncs

Landlord.
Reaction score
Before I started brewing my own, I used to be a lager drinker, my first couple of kits were lager kits. Since then, I've discovered how good ales can be and, now i have gone over to ag, that's all I brew. I haven't had a lager for a good few years, until tonight. While I was in Sainsbury's, in a moment of weakness, I found a bottle of Kroenburg in my basket, a lager I used to like.

I've just opened it, poured it into a glass (something I would never have done before) and had a sip. After pulling a face, I tipped it down the sink. How could I have ever liked that stuff :sick:

how has your taste buds changed since you started brewing?

100% yes , totally agree with everything you wrote . I may like wheat beers and such like but i used to drink **** i mean lager (as in can of **** ) now it does taste like **** . (did i mention **** ? i think you get the meaning ) :thumb:

Not quite as far as yours it seems as I can still stomach the odd pint of lager, though it's the exception rather than the rule nowadays. I'm more likely to walk into a pub and pick a real ale that looks interesting than pick a lager, even tough with the lager you'll know what you're getting.
With my own brews it's mainly pale and hoppy.. though I've gained a taste for Weissebier, Kölsch and Oatmeal Stouts. Sadly I've yet to manage to brew a standard English bitter that I like though I keep making the odd attempt.

One day I'll even get around to brewing myself a decent lager :shock:

Just seen Pittsy's response. Is it the forum's general view that all lager is p*ss?
Have the Germans and Czechs been wasting all their time all these years brewing p*ss.... or is it just our version of mass produced yellow fizzy water that can be described as such?