How warm for carbonation and conditioning?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I’m totally new to this. My first-ever two kit brews have been fermenting about 9 days now and I'll wait another few days before I King Keg one of them (Woodforde's Wherry) and bottle the other (Admiral's Reserve). I've been reading a ton of helpful posts across the forum (thank you) about these next stages and I think I've got a handle on what to do and when. One question though. Everyone says something like 'carbonate for 2 weeks in the warm and condition for another few weeks in cooler conditions'. OK great, but just how warm, and how cool? For carbonation, what's meant by 'warm'? Airing cupboard type warmth? And how cool should we be aiming at for the post-carb conditioning? Some rough figures would be helpful. Thank you!

Yes carbonate in room temps, and then cold condition in the refrigerator although that's not necessary they can stay in room temps longer term if needed. Sample one after 2 weeks to make sure they are fully carbonated before putting them in the fridge.

I’ve not bottled for a while but generally did it at the same temperature range for the yeast I was using, ideally finding somewhere in the house with a fairly constant temperature. If the primary fermentation temp was, say, 22c, I’d aim to keep it similar for however long it takes to carbonate. Once the yeast is done with secondary fermentation, it’s okay to store cooler, and the cold can help the beer clear up and the yeast settle and compact. For this, I usually put some bottles in the fridge for a few days.
Just remember different styles have different optimal temperature ranges and lagers generally benefit from a long cool storage where ales can be done quicker.