Kits Keep Sticking

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PuggledPrune

Reaction score
Hey folks,

I know this has been done but I'm a bit puzzled.... I'm still a newbie but i have done 8-10 brews of various turbo ciders, wow's, even a mead and they've all turned out fine. Fermented out as expected and tasted great. I have also done 2 kit brews, a betterbrew Czech pils and a Barons' Mexican Cerveza and they both stuck... The pilsner stuck at 1018 and the cerveza which is on just now seems to have stuck at 1020.... I don't get it...
anyone got any ideas?

Probably low fermenting temperature, are you heating it and what temp is it at?
:cheers:

Bit of a long long story, i got a aquarium type heater and put it in a water bath but it broke, however since then its been in my kitchen which averages at 20degrees, the wife wont turn the heating off so it never gets top cold even at night, if anything it gets a bit hot...

i really want a brewfridge so i can control the temp properly.

Room temperature is quite often different to the brew temp so I would take a reading just to make sure. If it is a bit low try wrapping it up in an old duvet/blanket and if the brew is on the floor put some newspapers underneath it to help keep the cold out

Will do, thanks mate. Its on the worktop. There are 2 1 gallon demijohns with tc in them right next to it but theyve fermented to dry... Still puzzles me.

That should be fine but might be worth trying to warm it a degree or two either by wrapping it up or by turning the heating up a bit.
Have you read the How To for stuck fermentations?

PuggledPrune said:
Steralised my thermometer and took a reading. Its currently 18.5 degrees...