Moving to BIAB, what equipment will I need?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paulus

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi, I was hoping I could get some pointers before I go buy stuff.

I have been using kits for about 8 months and as I live in a place with a challenging environment for fermenting, I have been getting the temperature control for both primary and secondary ferments down pat before moving over to all grain BIAB on a small scale. I may move on to full brewing later, depends how this adventure goes.

I have all the kit for fermenting upto 23L (both 30 and 20L ferment bins available) and then bottling.

I would like to move to all grain BIAB doing about 9L (2 gallons) at a time.

From what I have read I need a pot about 2.5 x the volume of the wort I want to produce?

Probably best to have a false bottom in the pot and I'll need a small BIAB bag.

I would hope to be able to scale up or down from online recipes so will be using about 2Kg of grains at a time?

I am interested in how I would use dried yeast at this small a volume. I usually re-hydrate the pack first and add a small amount of nutrients then pitch it. Would a whole pack of 6.5g be too much for this?

Any advice/info is much appreciated.

You don't need 2.5 times the wort size, just enough space so it doesn't boil over. I'll go and check mine later but I think I do 13 litres in an 18 litre pot.
I pitch a full 11g pack when I do 13 litres and just sprinkle it on.

I don't know what other kit you need apart from the bag unless you are thinking of using a portable hob ? I often boil and ferment in the same pot, cool it (or no-chill) then pitch.

You don't need 2.5 times the wort size, just enough space so it doesn't boil over. I'll go and check mine later but I think I do 13 litres in an 18 litre pot.
I pitch a full 11g pack when I do 13 litres and just sprinkle it on.