Newbie looking for a good lager starter kit

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1stTimer

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I’m brand new to the hobby and I’m looking for a full lager kit with everything in to brew some light crisp lager about 3.5 abv (usually only have a few bud lights on a weekend)

i would prefer a kit which comes with glass bottles if possible so I can enjoy them straight out of the glass instead of having to pour out a plastic one

my friend has recommended coopers European? Is this good or is there something better?

any help is much appreciated

i would prefer a kit which comes with glass bottles if possible so I can enjoy them straight out of the glass instead of having to pour out a plastic one
I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but you won’t be able to drink out of the bottle with Homebrew unless you are using corny kegs with a bottling gun. If you are bottle conditioning you will always have sediment in the bottom of the bottle and will need to pour into a glass.

Well that’s a shame! So is there any benefit to a glass bottle for conditioning? Thanks for the reply

I hear you when you say you'd like a lager, but just to say that you might have more luck with a bitter the first time round :-) Lagers are harder to get right - but equally, fortune favours the brave athumb..
Most lager kits are really pseudo lagers though. They come with an ale or hybrid yeast for fermenting at ale temps.

To answer your question about bottle conditioning, in order to have carbonated beer, you need C02 which you get in two ways.

1. Artificial carbonation with C02 from a cylinder. You can do this with bottles, but it requires a lot of equipment and financial outlay.