Noob with questions

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tetsuo1981

Regular.
Reaction score
Hi all

I was given some home-brewing kit from my wife for Christmas comprising of the following:

http://www.wilko.com/homebrew-gifts/wilko-pressure-barrel-5-gallon/invt/0441260

http://www.wilko.com/cider+beer-brewing/john-bull-traditional-english-ale-brewing-kit-18kg/invt/0435883#fullDesc

While I admit I am a complete novice I have read up a little bit and am uncertain whether I can use this pressure barrel to ferment and bottle this kit? Do I really need a separate fermentation vessel for this kit? Would it be worth trying to replace the CO2 valve with an air lock? Or should I do away with the pressure barrel and get a proper fermentation vessel and keep the pressure barrel for storing / racking into for bottling?

Eventually I want to get into mashing and doing everything from scratch but wanted to walk before running so any help.would be great.

Sorry for the long post!

Hi mate, in my opinion, it's much better to ferment in a dedicated fermenting vessel, they are quite cheap in wilko. You could ferment in the PB, but then you'll have to find 40 bottles and buy a capper and faff about sanitising all those bottles. Much easier to condition your beer in the PB. Some will say the beer keeps better in bottles, but my beer don't last long enough to make it an issue.

Hi all

I was given some home-brewing kit from my wife for Christmas comprising of the following:

http://www.wilko.com/cider+beer-bre...sh-ale-brewing-kit-18kg/invt/0435883#fullDesc