Pressure barrel priming.......under pressure

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Corbières

Reaction score
As you will obviously be able to tell, I’m VERY new at this. After watching too many YouTube videos, i have ended up with a standard pressure barrel, S30 pin valve cap and also with added pressure gauge. Also has a schrader valve 😳. First EVER brew Evil Dog Double IPA finished fermentation and transferred to barrel with priming sugar. I the pressurised barrel with CO2 bulb to 5psi on the gauge - after venting back from 8psi. I can vent further with the schrader valve. Now sitting sealed in a warm place. Problems ??

Not that I can see. Secondary fermentation should start in a day or two. You’ll see the pressure gradually increase. Depending on how much sugar you’ve added the pressure might rise sufficient to blow the relief valve but that’s what it’s supposed to do. I tend to bleed off any pressure over 10 psi to avoid stressing the PB and the gauge but not essential. You’ll know when fermentation is finished as pressure will stop increasing, usually a couple of weeks. Then move your PB to somewhere cool to condition for a couple of weeks or more, if you can wait.

Not that I can see. Secondary fermentation should start in a day or two. You’ll see the pressure gradually increase. Depending on how much sugar you’ve added the pressure might rise sufficient to blow the relief valve but that’s what it’s supposed to do. I tend to bleed off any pressure over 10 psi to avoid stressing the PB and the gauge but not essential. You’ll know when fermentation is finished as pressure will stop increasing, usually a couple of weeks. Then move your PB to somewhere cool to condition for a couple of weeks or more, if you can wait.