Suitable for plastic barrel?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

samthor.

Reaction score
OK, ive just finished my first 2 brews as a beginner, my first was a coopers dark ale wich turned out beautifully but it had not much of a head once poured from the barrel. I then brewed a German weiss that had also poured flat so my question today is can anyone recommend a good cheap brew kit thats not too bitter that I can use a basic pressure barrel with and get abit head at all? I've also got a turbo cider just about to finish, should I bottle or barrel it? As a lady, I do like some fiss in my cider so ive saved up some 2.5 litre pet bottles and im not sure how much sugar I need to prime these big bottles?

Firstly only use pet bottles that have had fizzy drinks in them. there are calculators online for carbonation levels, to answer your pressure barrel ? use the search function on here there is a massive thread on them and there pitfalls

Firstly only use pet bottles that have had fizzy drinks in them. there are calculators online for carbonation levels, to answer your pressure barrel ? use the search function on here there is a massive thread on them and there pitfalls
The bottles are ex cider plastic ones but they are 2.5 litres, the barrel is the usual 40 pints.

I usually bottle into glass bottles, but have had some success using 1l plastic tonic water bottles from the supermarket.

I use 5g/l for my preferred light carbonation, so if you like your cider fizzy, I would double that.

If this is your first cider, taste when you go to bottle it, you may want to add some sweetener, as homebrew cider can come out quite sharp.

As for head on your beer, I think it's quite difficult to get right.