The story so far, and a question...

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tonight_we_fly

Reaction score
Thanks to those of you who offered friendly welcoming words when I joined the forum recently.

Here is the story so far... I’m now part of the way through my first brew (Edme Superbrew German-style lager). It was a far trickier experience than I’d imagined, largely due to a lack of instructions; I was quite surprised that the kit which I bought was marketed as being for complete beginners, yet it came with absolutely no setting up instructions whatsoever.

Similarly, the book I had purchased (by Palmer) was subtitled to suggest that it was intended for brewing “the first time” and yet an awful lot of the basics seemed to just be assumed (“use warm water when sanitizing your equipment” – what does “warm” mean? Sixty degrees? Sixteen degrees?). Also, the directions in the book seemed to entirely contradict the instructions which came with the kit at some points (e.g. the kit told me to sprinkle the yeast on top, the book said I should rehydrate it at a precise temperature for fifteen minutes before stirring it in).

It was apparent that it was going to be a lot more complicated than I’d anticipated even from the very first step, in which I was instructed to remove the label from the outside of the tin (tear it off? You would have needed industrial-grade paintstripper, a blow torch and possible some kind of nuclear reaction to get that label off). I was close to just pouring the whole thing down the drain when I followed the instruction to “add nineteen litres of cold water, then wait for the temperature to drop to 18-21 Celsius (after adding that all cold water the temperature was resultingly at about ten degrees).