Time to start posting and improving

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldpathwhiteclouds

Reaction score
Hi Everyone, I've been brewing since about 2012 I think. I started off with an equipment starter kit and a Festival Golden Stag Summer Ale kit and I haven't really looked back. I had one batch that was infected and turned sour so I bought a copper wort chiller. This year I've started all grain brewing and I've been grateful of the time in my shed tbh with 2 teenage daughters in the house with my Wife and other daughter. I have probably only done 15 brews since I moved away from kits and I only do 2 or 3 a year. I started with a pressure keg which came with the kit but now I bottle it all in swing top bottles.

I use a Burcol 30Ltr boiler of which I have bodged the thermostat so it rolls. I'd say I've had most success with porters and Black IPAs. Perhaps they are more forgiving with the big grain flavours. I haven't really got to the stage of getting my Hop Aromas to come out or stick around in my summer IPA attempts and feel that I need to improve my game there. Having said that I've enjoyed every bottle that Ive drunk and as they count down I lament the end of each batch like it was the best I have brewed. One thing is I insist on using all the Challenger hops I grow in my garden having no idea of their apha acids. I frequently overdo the bittering and have to leave the batch until they calm down. One day I'll learn my lesson.

So far I have just used the Graham Wheeler book, at first, and more latterly How to Brew by John Palmer. When I have issues I try to scan the forums but I don't tend to get straight answers and so I thought I would begin to commit some time to this one to see if I can improve my methods.