Using airlock instead of hydrometer

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chrisnewton

Reaction score
I know I know I will get flamed for this, but I have never used a hydrometer when doing homebrew... I am quite new to this but I just can't get my head round using one so I use method passed down by my dad, basically when airlock has stopped bubbling it's good to bottle.

My problem is every home brew usually still bubbles.. I'm talking about one bubble every few minutes.. I always leave it about 2 weeks before bottling but was wondering is the fact I am still getting one bubble every few minutes mean it's not finished?

I know there is only really one way to tell and I understand I'm doing it wrong but beers have always tasted fine.

Just wondered what what you guys feel about airlock being only judge of fermenting process?

I guess it depends on your FV and how good the seal is. I have one with a very tight seal, any brew in there bubbles the airlock constantly. My other FV must have a less efficient seal as I get no bubbles at all through the airlock, but the beer ferments with no problem. If you're leaving your brews for two weeks, then I expect they'll be good to bottle, but it wouldn't hurt to get a hydrometer....

I do use a hydrometer but it does tend to be a bit of a waste of time, as 99% of the time I know when it's finished. I leave brews an absolute minimum of 2 weeks, usually 20 days or so, which seem to be ample - you can tell it's finished as the yeast will drop out and the beer will be clear.

I only ever use a hydrometer just before bottling. This tells me if it is too cloudy, or SG is too high and then I leave it for another week.

I take the hydrometer sample before sorting the bottles with priming sugar (when I remember) because it seems a bit late by then to change your mind!

I own a hydrometer and I do use it.