West coast IPA clone recipe (newbie, so tear it apart)

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spoon

Regular.
Reaction score
I'll not say which one as I got 90% of the recipie from the brewer but didn't ask for permission to publish it. And I'll just say the original recipie used a lot of hop extract at 90min rather than the bucketload of cascade. I'm new to AG brewing so I'll put down my thought process for anyone to pick apart, the recipe itself I'm hoping is sound, it's just the interpretation I'm less sure on.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

xxxxxxx IPA - Sam's clone

American IPA (14 B)

Type: All Grain
Batch Size: 20.00 l
Boil Size: 25.34 l
Boil Time: 60 min
End of Boil Vol: 21.84 l
Final Bottling Vol: 19.00 l
Fermentation: Ale, Single Stage

Date: 01 Dec 2015
Brewer: Chicken Shed Brewery
Asst Brewer:
Equipment: 3 plastic pots
Efficiency: 72.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 75.6 %
Taste Rating: 30.0

Taste Notes:

Ingredients

Amt

Name

Type

#

%/IBU

5.72 kg Pale Malt (2 Row) UK (5.9 EBC) Grain 1 94.7 %
0.16 kg Cara-Pils/Dextrine (3.9 EBC) Grain 2 2.6 %
0.16 kg Melanoiden Malt (39.4 EBC) Grain 3 2.6 %
20.00 g Cascade [9.70 %] - First Wort 90.0 min Hop 4 26.5 IBUs
20.00 g Cascade [9.70 %] - Boil 90.0 min Hop 5 24.1 IBUs
12.00 g Amarillo [10.50 %] - Boil 30.0 min Hop 6 11.3 IBUs
9.00 g Centennial [9.10 %] - Boil 30.0 min Hop 7 7.3 IBUs
20.00 g Amarillo [10.50 %] - Steep/Whirlpool 20.0 min Hop 8 7.4 IBUs
20.00 g Centennial [9.10 %] - Steep/Whirlpool 20.0 min Hop 9 6.4 IBUs
1.0 pkg US West Coast Yeast (Mangrove Jack's #M44) Yeast 10 -
20.00 g Cascade [9.7 %] - Dry Hop 0.0 Days Hop 11 0.0 IBUs

Gravity, Alcohol Content and Color

Est Original Gravity: 1.065 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.013 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 6.8 %
Bitterness: 83.0 IBUs
Est Color: 12.5 EBC

Measured Original Gravity: 1.065 SG