When transferring cider to pressure barrel help

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

anthony346

Reaction score
Hey guys complete newbie here an on my first ever kit. I've got a question regarding transferring to the pressure barrel. Once all the cider has been transferred, there is still air in the top, the cider didn't fill it completely. Ok to leave that air there or do I need to add anything to it?

Sorry to be a complete idiot, thanks in advanced, an sorry if this is posted in the wrong section

Hey guys complete newbie here an on my first ever kit. I've got a question regarding transferring to the pressure barrel. Once all the cider has been transferred, there is still air in the top, the cider didn't fill it completely. Ok to leave that air there or do I need to add anything to it?

Sorry to be a complete idiot, thanks in advanced, an sorry if this is posted in the wrong section

If you primed the cider with sugar before transferring it into the pressure barrel then all you have to do is to put the barrel somewhere nice and warm to get the secondary fermentation going. It should be ready to drink in one to two weeks.

If you didn't add the priming sugar but you are able to pressurise the barrel with CO2 then I suggest that you do this as soon as possible. After that it's just a case of waiting for it to clear enough that you want to drink it. (Tomorrow would be good enough for me!)

If you didn't add any priming sugar then I can only assume that you are intending to drink "still" cider in which case I you can start drinking the cider straight away or wait for it to clear if you like a clear cider. However, to prevent any nasties getting in there to spoil the brew I would sulphite it with the addition of one Camden Tablet per 5 litres and then wait for it to clear before drinking.