Wilko's Sweet Newky Brown kit

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beer_here

Reaction score
Hi All

I really fancy having a crack at the Sweet Newky Brown kit. It will be my first attempt at brewing.

Any tips at all? I've heard of a lot of people using brewing sugar along with dry malt and also golden syrup.

All feedback welcome 😊😊

Hi, Have a read of the thread in the review section, there's loads of variations in there. Most people say to follow instructions to the letter the first time though.

That's a fair point. Just don't want my first batch to be awful, when I could of easily enhanced it at the beginning.

Cheers 😊

I had my last pint out of the keg of Wilko's sweet Newkie Brown last night - very acceptable.

I am also an absolute beginner and so I followed the instructions to the letter, and I used everyday granulated sugar.

I have used a keg and gas though, I did not bottle it.

I had my last pint out of the keg of Wilko's sweet Newkie Brown last night - very acceptable.

I am also an absolute beginner and so I followed the instructions to the letter, and I used everyday granulated sugar.

I have used a keg and gas though, I did not bottle it.

Sounds good. How long did it stay in the keg for?

I'm fairly new also and am quickly moving to more complex method rather than kits but I followed all kits to the letter first time then tinkered. If I'm honest for first half a dozen brews I just wanted drinkable cheap beer. Now the challenge gets better with each brew. And I feel that when I change things I can tell what the result is.

This is what I did with my second Newkie Brown brew:

Wilko Sweet Newkie Brown 23L - 16/02/16 - 28/02/16 20-21c
Re-pitched Mangrove Jacks Workhorse yeast + 1tsp Yeast Nutrient
1kg Youngs Beer Enhancer + 60g Honey
35g East Kent Golding pellets - 20m boil, tea and hop bag added to FV
OG:1050 - FG:1005 - 6%