Beer for Curry?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

guillotine

Reaction score
OK now I brew my own beer I'm looking for recipes or tips on brewing a beer to go with my other culinary hobby; cooking hot curries! As curry is definitely a meal for beer instead of wine.

I was thinking a light/medium German Wheat beer, but i am not too sure about the hops, Citrus maybe?? I guess it has got to be nice and fresh to clear the plate rather then to complex.

Any feedback or experience is appreciated otherwise I am starting from scratch, as I usually brew dark beers and stouts.

Thanks

I am no expert but like a nice hoppy american pale ale with curry.

Favourite hops for me in US pale include Cascade which is citrussy (still cheap to buy), plus the following which all seem to be getting more and more expensive: Centennial, Amarillo, Simcoe, Chinook.

Agree, English or American IPAs go great with a curry, recently had Bengal Lancer with a meal out and it complemented it really well. A good lager though is still a fantastic option. Cant say I have ever had a wheat beer with a curry but I can imagine a nice clean citrussy one in the style of an American Wheat could work really well personally a more traditional wheat might be a bit heavy to go with curry.

+1 for the APA.
I made a New Zealand Pale Ale with 5 hops to go with a Chilli I had made and the fruity citrusy hops matched really well, goes especially well with home made guacamole including chillies and lime.

I don't know why people drink bland Indian lager with their curries or spicy food, may as well drink water to wash it down if you can't get decent beer!

I'm going to go rogue here and say that a Lamb Rogan goes really well with a porter or stout. Something about the tomato-ey flavours works really well with it.