Boiling Extract for 90 Mins?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bertie Doe

Reaction score
Hi I'm a newbie just returning to the fold after a short lay-off. In the past I've exclusively used kits. Before attempting the Full Mash route, I'd like to compromise and start with a dried malt extract, with grains and hops. If I'm happy with the result, I need go no further with equipment purchase.
On this occasion, my recipe guide is Graham Wheeler's BYO British Real Ale. I've picked 'Theakston Best Bitter' for 19 litres, OG1038 and target (ABV) 3.8%. The starter is bubbling away nicely, I've got all the ingredients, so there's no turning back:-
1960g dried malt extract, 175g crystal malt, 33g in total of challenger and fuggle hops. Water, up to 18 litres.
In his preamble Malt Extract Brewing - no mash required. He states that a well mashed beer will always have the edge over an extract, but there may be time and equipment issues.
With regard to malt extract he states-
"All the ingredients are simply boiled vigorously for an hour or more and then strained into the fermentation bin".
Ok I can be persuaded that boiling grains for 90 mins will help purge out the sugars, but does the extract need boiling for this length of time? After all, a kit is simply a tin of extract and a sachet of yeast - I don't recall the instructions stating that the contents should be boiled.
I'll be using dried rather than syrup, I guess a short boil would kill any nasties, but my main concern is equipment. My max stockpot is 10 litres and I'm trying to avoid doing 2 batches of 90 minute boils. Any help appreciated.