Brewing Cider -Lots of help needed!!! :)

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dee

Reaction score
Hi there,
I am completely new to home brewing! I was hoping I could possibly get a push in the right direction :) ..I just have a few questions and if anyone has any additional info it would be greatly appreciated!

First of all... equiptment!
I currently have the following:

Fermentation bin
mixing paddle
Syphon
Steriliser
Hydrometer
Bottles
One of those things with water in that lets air get out but not get in (apologies for lack of terminology!)

Do I need anything else or is there anything here that I don't need?... Is there any way to get around not using a hydrometer or is it standard?

Also: Would you recommend using fresh fruit juice (you get the fruit, press it, sift it...) OR can I just buy cartons of normal fruit juice? If yes, does it matter wether it is from concentrate or not?

After the initial brewing stage do I need to add the liquid to demijohns? If yes, what is the reason for this?

Also, should I got for a "cider kit" or do it all from scratch? If I was to do it from scratch, I would need general purpose wine yeast, juice, and sugar... is that all?

Sorry if some of this sounds very obvious or anything, like I mentioned before I have never brewed before, and any information is greatly appreciated.
Thanks a lot,
Dee :)

Hi Dee, and welcome to the forum :cheers:
Dee said:
One of those things with water in that lets air get out but not get in (apologies for lack of terminology!)
It's called an airlock, otherwise known as a bubbler or a trap, lets carbon dioxide out but prevents flies etc.from getting in.

Dee said:
Do I need anything else or is there anything here that I don't need?... Is there any way to get around not using a hydrometer or is it standard?
It sounds like you've got everything you need to start with. :thumb: