CO2 help

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeerMe

Reaction score
I've never used gas for carbonation before and all of the different types of bottles and cartridges has me confused.

First off, does any that I get have to have a certain kind of fitting? I've seen screwed and blank cartridges.

What is the minimum size I would need to force carbonate a 19l corny? I assume the small 16g, etc cartridges are useless? I know economically it is better to get a big tank as the refill costs scale better, but the initial outlay on them is more than I can afford right now. Some are looking for £80 deposit.

Finally, where is the best place to buy suitable cartridges or rent a larger bottle? Google doesn't show many options around Glasgow and Lanarkshire. Will industrial suppliers do single canisters to the public? There's a company near me called SIG - anyone heard of or used them for this?

Thanks for any help, my head is frazzled with it all.

If you are kegging your beer in a corny then 16g cartridges are no good for you. They are for dispensing naturally carbonated beer from mini kegs.

I guess your best bet is either a Hambleton Bard S30 or a soda stream but that's not the end of the matter. You'll need some sort of adapter to attach them to the gas inlet post and you should really have a regulator. That said, I never had a regulator when I used the S30 to pressurise my old king keg.

Technically of course you can use mini cartridges but to force carbonate a five litre mini keg I need a couple of them plus one to dispense so quadruple that for a 19L keg you are looking at maybe 12 cartridges so about £10 to dispense a keg (maybe a little less but still not cheap). Sodastream cylinders would work out a bit cheaper but you are still talking about 1/3 to 1/2 or more of a cylinder so maybe £4-£6 a keg.