First Brew - Looking for helpful comments

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rifraf58

Reaction score
My first Brew and I am not really looking for advice as I know what I should be doing, but as I say it is my first brew and I am probably going to be a plonker and helpful comments would be very welcome, name calling is also acceptable.
It's Coopers English Bitter brewed with 500g Light Spray Malt & 500g Dextrose. Started at 1.042 and has now been 1006 for two days which means it is already a bit stronger than I was aiming at. Samples that I have drawn off to check the SP have been drunk rather than wasted and I was well impressed with the flavour.
I know I should prime it and do it properly but I am a typical newbie and can't wait! Tomorrow I will start a new batch to condition properly. Today I want to keg the current batch and Gas it, it will be in a Wilkinson Pressure Barrel within co2 bulbs.

Any comments (or advice) on this proposed process would be very welcome. At my disposal i have a hall cupboard that maintains a constant temperature pretty much year round of 14C I also have an empty fridge that when unplugged maintains a constant temp inside of 22C and obviously down to 1C to 7C when turned on.

You are probably fermented at 1.006. Siphon over and prime. Leave for two weeks to carbonate then cool to your 14c. If you can leave it a couple of weeks more the taste will be better. But it's drinkable as soon as it's carbonated. Don't try to carbonate with CO2 bulbs you will be there all day and still not have enough bulbs. :grin: