Harder then usual Krausen

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve_89

Reaction score
Hi Guys/Girls

So I'm pretty new to brewing I've done 2 beer kits and 2 wine kits so far.

I thought I would try my hand at doing a small batch of mixed fruit cider for the other half.

It was a simple recipe of:

3kg of mix frozen fruits boiled and crushed and sieved to give me 1 litre of juice plus 9L of pure apple juice plus 1 strong cup of black tea

So it's been fermenting about a week or so but I've noticed the Krausen is a lot "thicker" then usual and sat on the top and looks let's say "crusty" not sure if this is normal or not.

I used EC 1118 yeast been at around 20-22c

Looks like I've got a chocolate brownie sat on the top which is the best way to describe it 😳

Took a sample to check Gravity still off where it should be so will leave it longer (if what is sat on top is not an infection)

The sample I took looked good. Was a nice colour and tasted fine too.

This been my first brew not using a kit and using fresh fruits instead has me worried about the first "crusty Krausen"

Any ideas? Pictures attached.

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_20210130_083837.jpg
    IMG_20210130_083837.jpg
    12.4 KB · Views: 54
  • IMG_20210130_083802.jpg
    IMG_20210130_083802.jpg
    21.1 KB · Views: 44
  • IMG_20210130_083125.jpg
    IMG_20210130_083125.jpg
    9.5 KB · Views: 41
Nothing to worry about in fact its looking good
Fresh fruit wines are never as well behaved as kits.
After many, many years of winemaking i have kind of settled on ec-1118 as my goto yeast.
but it sort of never gives up if you know what i mean.The SAS of yeast.

Dont worry i have seen this and much,much worse and its always come alright on the nightathumb...

BTW i should of noticed you are new to the forum,and given you a warm welcome

Last edited:
Nothing to worry about in fact its looking good