Mangrove Jacks Brewers Series 40 Pint Pilsner Fermenting Temperature?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bakey1992

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm hoping someone can shed some light on the fermenting temperatures of the kit. Mangrove Jacks Brewers Series 40 Pint Pilsner

The yeast provided says that it should be fermented between 10-15 degrees. but on the box it comes in it says 20-25 degrees.

Why is this? Ad what temperature should I choose?

I have been looking online but cannot find a clear answer on why and what is best, only that lagers should be brewed at lower temperatures, seemingly much lower than the 20-25 on the box. Image showing differences

I am relatively new to brewing and have just made a Fermentation Chamber from a fridge and an Inkbird so I'm taking more notice of these temperatures.

Thanks in advance

Mine didn't come with any, so they had to send me one out afterwards and they sent M84.

I assumed that was the one it was supposed to come with so maybe that's why it doesn't add up.

So still not sure what temperature to go for?

I’m brewing the same kit and by chance with the same yeast as you have. The yeast that comes with the kit is the same as for all the brewers series and is ale yeast. I ditched this for m84 bohemian lager yeast and am fermenting at lager temperatures. Wanted to take advantage of the cooler weather for a more authentic lager.

Ahh brilliant! I will get that set up today @ 13 degrees then.

Do you have any other tips for me? I was just going to Ferment until it reached target FG and was steady.

Mine started at 1.050 ( kit +1kg brewing sugar +500g light DME)
Put it in a water bath in a cool corner of the cellar. I’ve been popping a ice pack in when I remember. It’s been keeping 10-12 degrees.