Puzzling differences between wine and beer making

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shearclass

Landlord.
Reaction score
urm, not sure which forum to post this in

I have recently been looking into making country wine, as well as kit white wine. i have been brewing kits since the start of the year, so I am still new to the game, however there seem to be differences between wine making and beer making which are confusing me.

Beer - pitch yeast, leave in FV untouched until fermentation complete (unless double dropping)
Wine - pitch yeast, leave loosely covered, stir every day for 5ish days

Beer - don't mess abotu with it, transferring it from FV to FV could introduce oxygen or infection to the beer
Wine - rack, rack, rack and rack again before bottling

Beer - don't splash brew, don't want to introduce oxygen
Wine - pick up DJ and sake like made to de gas. rack rack and rack again.

Plus a couple of other smaller points that I've forgotten about at teh moment. Can anyone explain these to me?

Are you refering to AG or kit beer ?

I think the most I have racked it twice with wine but im still new to this so might be doing something wrong :p When your racking your using syphon tube to try keep exposure to the air as low as possable to reduce the chance of infection and after degassing I then put the brew into either a DJ or bottles with Campden Tablets to try stop anything that did get into the brew kicking up.

So even though it may look like there is alot of air/oxygen getting mixed into the brew with wine making you always try keep threat of infection to a minimum :)

Cheers

Marrsy

shearclass said:
Wine - pitch yeast, leave loosely covered, stir every day for 5ish days