Mead recipe wanted please

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Browntea

Reaction score
Hi folks, this is my first post and I'm wanting already!!

I keep bees so naturally I want to have a go at making Mead! I've got the honey what else will I be needing?

I'm a noob to home brewing too, I've just bought a coopers ginger beer kit but that's another thread!!

Thanks

Whatever you make, honey is a bit lacking in the nutrients yeast likes, so some yeast nutrient
And probably some tannin

Browntea said:
Many thanks for all your replies i will let you know how i get on with it :thumb:

Definitely tell us which one's worked and which one's didnt i've got 3 demojohns on the got 4lbs honey added 1tsp marmite (instead of yeast nutrient), then one has 1 lemon, the other 2 limes and the other 1 orange, 25 raisins pinch of all spice, pinch of cineman and pinch of nutmug and 1 clove. Used Lavlin EC-1118 yeast on these and they are still bubbling away nicely every few seconds after 3 weeks. Going to start two more off but going to try lalvin K1-V1116 instead this time.

1baqmos

The summer fruit mead is similar to a recipe I use and is my favourite so far :thumb: My method is slightly different, I ferment the honey and 4l water with yeast and half the dose of nutrient (1/2 tsp), then add the other 1/2 tsp about 4 days later or so. When it has finished fermenting, I rack it into another DJ with about 1kg of summer fruit in it, and a 1tsp of pectolase. Save any leftover mead in a sanitised plastic bottle to top up later. Let it sit on the fruit for about 2 weeks until it has taken the colour of the fruit, and may even be starting to clear. Rack again to get rid of the fruit, and I usually add a campden tablet and pot sorbate to stop the yeast so I can backsweeten with more honey before clearing and bottling. Leave for 6 months before drinking.