American IPA

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Some may have seen in another thread that I have some:

Apollo 19.5% approx 90g
Columbus 16.8% 80g

and I am planning on doing a American IPA but need some help building the recipe because this is my first attempt of doing my own recipe from scratch. I will be using the BIAB method.

So I was thinking about something like this:

5 kg Maris Otter
0.5kg Crystal Malt (not sure on EBU)

30G Apollo @ 60 mins
30G Columbus @ 60 mins
30G Apollo @ 30
30G Columbus @ 30
30G Apollo@ flame out
30G Columbus @ flame out
15G Citra @ Flame out
30g Citra dry hop

Yeast - Safale US-05 Yeast (11.5g)

Thoughts and input welcomed.

With High alpha hops that looks like a hell of a lot of bittering to me, and would hazard a guess at over 100 IBU's. My palate doesn't really like over 50 Ibu's but some people do like more.

Just used brewers friend to calculate and your recipe will be coming in at over 200ibu's.

This would give 55IBU's.

Apollo 20g at 60min
Collumbus 40g at 5min
Collumbus 40g at flame out
Dry Hop 45g of citra

Apollo is mainly a bittering hop so would prefer to use collumbus and citra for flavour and aroma

Looks a bit better to me but others here will have better experience!!

I'd try light crystal if you haven't already purchased it. Grain quantities look good.

Have you calculated the number of IBUs, eg. on Brewer's Friend?

I think you may wish to give a larger percentage of your hops to late additions.

Thanks. If I only knew the IBU for some of my favourite ales. I like strong hoppy flavours.

Off the top of my head sierra nevada pale has just under 40 IBU

Brewdog punk IPA i think has 45 IBU

Google your favourite beers and theyre should be something that will give you a decent approximation.

I'd try light crystal if you haven't already purchased it. Grain quantities look good.