Been out of the ALL GRAIN game for a while. What do you think to this recipe?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ashley

Regular.
Reaction score
Hi boys and girls,

It's been over 2 years since I was brewing and a couple of weeks ago I made some AG beer. I don't think it'll be great but as a reminder for the processes it has helped a lot.

I have spent some time today coming up with some ideas for a recipe and I am looking at using more hops than I have ever used before. I'm also using a malt I have never used before too... Victory Malt.

I want a malty full bodied beer with notes of caramel and biscuit. I am an English hops junky too but want to make it hoppy to balance with the sweetness but not overly happy. I hate IPA style beers and I'm very much a classic English bitter fan.

I have an unopened vacuum pack of fuggles but the alpha content has come off. I think it was low from memory at about 3.7%.

I have bought some goldings at 4.4% and have some EKG at 5.2%

Beersmith shows me I'm getting the colour right for my ideal beer.

Here's what I have so far.

4500g maris otter
200g Victory Malt
160g Caramalt
500g crystal malt (152 ebc)
100g black malt

90 minute mash.

90 minute boil.

90 mins 30g fuggles
60 mins 25g goldings
30 mins 10g fuggles
20 mins 10g EKG
10 mins 10g fuggles
5 mins 15g goldings

Beersmith says I'm looking at about 33 IBU'S. Approx abv 5.3%. Colour 36.7 ebc

Am I using too many speciality malts? It's more than I have used before.

Am I using too many hops? Will it be too bitter? I have never added hops at so many different stages before...

Sorry if I'm asking basic questions. I'm very rusty... thanks in advance for you advice.

Hi boys and girls,

It's been over 2 years since I was brewing and a couple of weeks ago I made some AG beer. I don't think it'll be great but as a reminder for the processes it has helped a lot.