did I just fail at the first step?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Noodleman

Reaction score
Hello Everybody,

A total beginner here, so please be gentle. I got talking to a wine brewing group recently at a local show, I was so inspired I went and kitted up and started to give wine making a go. I followed the instructions they gave me, at least how I recalled them and started my wine about a week ago. However, I am now thinking that I made a silly mistake in the first stage and may have to start over. I would appreciate some advice, and letting me know if I should write of this batch and start again.

My error? Well! I mixed up my recipe as I wanted, added all the various ingredients and was happy. The first 3-4 days there was very active fermentation, and it finally reduced to a lower level today. However, I put an airlock on at this stage. I now realize after doing some actual research that this was most likely the wrong thing to do because the yeast will need oxygen from the air at this point. I've seen the processes referred to as "stage 1" and "stage 2". Stage 1 being the aggressive fermentation, and "stage 2" being the slower fermentation phase with an airlock.

I racked my wine today, and it didn't smell great, there is a very strong sulphate smell. I think this means I have probably screwed it up at this point. I did read some articles which suggested you can recover from this point simply by aggravating the wine, thus adding some oxygen into the mix which would drive out the sulphates, but because of the reason for the sulphates I think its wrecked.

Should I scrap this batch and start over?

Thanks in advance for any replies :)

Noodle.

No, you got it right.

Wine is very much a mix it and go affair (well, the WOW style juice ones are). It will stink, they all do. It fades as/after fermentation finishes.