Hello from Kent

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

F0RM4T

Reaction score
Hi All,

My name is Paul from Kent.
I've been a member for a while but never posted.

I started brewing last year with an elderflower champagne on father's day 2013, I have a magnum of that left which I'm waiting until father's day this year to open, it seems to get better with age for sure. I'll be making a larger batch this year with a mind not to touch it until next year.

I've had some great successes and a couple of fails.

Finished in order:
  • Coopers Mexican Cervasa Drunk too soon, but nice none the less.
  • Wilko Merlot fair to good
  • Wilko Chardonnay 1 gallon (Big can) they don't do them anymore, just the small can very good IMO!
  • Muntons Sauvignon Blanc 23L. FAIL. Now eight months old and still has a sulphur nose.
  • Californian Connoisseur Malbec 23L Excellent, aged well and produced a fantastic wine.
  • Cooper Velvet stout with a chocolate malt grain addition Excellent! Surprised myself with this!
  • Coopers European Larger. Fail (massive sulphur nose) then Excellent! After seven months in the bottle this is a Stella clone! Wow!

Currently brewing:
  • Cal Con Barolo 23L, bottled & ageing
  • Cal Con Malbec 23L, secondary
  • Coopers Velvet stout with Chocolate Malt grain addition, bottled and aging.
  • Woodfordes Wherry with a Cascade dry hop addition. Currently in secondary.

A real local grape (Meopham Valley Vinyard) Pinot Noir Blanc. I'll be starting a thread on this as I don't know what to do with it. Finished wine is a little acidic and want some inspirational ideas.

To brew:
  • Cal Con Colombard 23L
  • Tom Cuxton Real Ale with a hop addition
  • Winter Warmer. Don't recall the brand.

THANKS to everyone for the indirect advice I've received over the months from this forum.

I've now bought a rather large wine rack that I am trying to fill.