Hop change, Mangrove Jacks Baltic Porter

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
This. I’m new at this so probably didn’t explain myself too well. The pale rider/Jaipur were mentioned as the type of bitterness I might look for in my brew
When you say the "type" of bitterness, are you just talking about the "amount" of bitterness or its "quality"? Different hops can produce different quality of bittering, from the raspiness of Target to the smooth bittering of something like Magnum.

It sounds like you just want a bit more apparent bitterness? Which is a bit more complex than just increasing IBUs as eg a high-gravity beer will "soak up" bittering units and appear a lot less bitter than a weaker beer with the same - or even less - IBUs. See this article for an introduction to the idea of BU:GU :
https://blog.homebrewing.org/bu-gu-ratio/
I was wondering if I could achieve something more bitter with my Porter by dry hopping.
Bitterness comes from various forms of alpha acids in hops. Boiling hops causes their alpha acids to undergo a chemical rearrangement called isomerisation which increases their bitterness 10x - so typically that's the limiting factor on how long you boil an all-grain brew, it takes about 60 minutes for the alpha acids to fully isomerise. So primarily if you're looking to add bitterness you are looking at isomerised alpha acids - either from boiling hops after the mash, from boiling hops on their own as a hop tea, or by buying commercial isomerised hop extract.

Dry hops can contribute bitterness via oxidised alpha acids called humulinones which have about 2/3 the bitterness of isomerised alpha acids. However you only benefit from this if the beer is not very bitter - eg a NEIPA. If the beer already has a lot of alpha acids, they adsorb onto the dry hops, so you lose alpha acids during dry hopping even while gaining humulinones.