Mad cooling Idea

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tubthumper

Regular.
Reaction score
say this one a search for something else and it was someone suggesting useing liquid nitrogen to cool the wort after boil
then some one else said an even better one to use would be liquid oxygen as it would also add oxygen to the wort and what a cold break you would get. :?

now to my thinking this is nuts as you would get all sort of probs , but I am not a scientist and dont really understand what it would do as I think it would cold boil like mad.
anyone think this would work and also has anyone ever thried this as it would be very fast cooling if it did work :hmm:

tubthumper said:
now to my thinking this is nuts as you would get all sort of probs , but I am not a scientist and dont really understand what it would do as I think it would cold boil like mad.
:hmm:

I can just imagine you in your brewery with dry ice spilling all over the place. If you do it you must were a lab coat and get one of those mad scientist tefal wigs. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Cryogenic beer :hmm: :hmm: there's a thought

:lol:

Yes, it would work. But it's bloody dangerous.

I'm not so sure about using the oxygen though, I suspect you'd end up with far too much dissolved oxygen in the wort.

Good grief, why am I even thinking about this?

what about using one of those scuba tanks and blowing that into the boiler to get the heat down and aireated at the same time

thames water rates not that cheap and I am on a meter
have got my cooling usage down to about 60ltrs or water which is still alot

There was a web site about cooling beer cans, and some people used a jet engine to cool the cans :shock:
Hate to think of the running costs though :D