Newbie Kegerator Gas Issues and General Questions

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Prottey

Reaction score
Hello! I’m new here and new to home kegerators. I recently built one and have everything working ok but have a couple issues I wanted to ask you experts about.

I’m using a nukatap flow control faucet and Kegland MK4 co2 regulator with the SodaStream attachment.

I got a commercial keg of tiny rebel clwb tropic but have had some issues dispensing. I connected a SodaStream canister and left it on and could hear the flow of gas constantly while it was open and at around 10-12 psi. Is the most likely cause of this a leak? Any other reason why it would drain the canister completely in a couple hours? Like I said I’m new to this, am I correct in thinking that the gas should only be pulled once the tap is open and dispensing beer?

I have read on this forum that some people only turn the gas on when dispensing and turn it off all other times. Is this something which I should be doing? Does it effect the pour of the beer at all?

The beer has also been coming out very foamy. I think this was due to the keg being too warm which I have since rectified by cooling to around the correct temp from what I’ve read but are there any other reasons for this?

Sorry for any stupid questions but I just want to get my set up pouring well for the World Cup as well as not waste any co2 or beer unnecessarily!

Thanks in advance.

Yep sounds like a leak. As you're not force carbonating you're correct that gas should only flow to offset the drop in pressure when you pour. What pressure is your regulator set to?

What fittings are you using? John Guest/Duotight?

Last edited:
Yep sounds like a leak. As you're not force carbonating you're correct that gas should only flow to offset the drop in pressure when you pour. What pressure what your regulator set to?