Yeast starters and pitching rates for a hefe

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zombrewer

Reaction score
Hi all, I was planning on making Pittsy's hefe this Saturday, and am just making a 1l starter with 100g DME. The yeast (a WLP380) is dated best before 10 April 2014, so bottled a litle over 3 months ago... giving it a viability of 26%, according to Mr Malty. I'm pretty new to this whole starter thing - this will be my third - but do have a stir plate... even with this, it's stating that for a 1l starter I'd need five vials of yeast this age... otherwise I'd need to pitch two vials into 2.26l. Even so, that would be £13 or so just on yeast.

Am I missing something? I realise some people recommend underpitching a hefeweizen a little for more phenols etc. but would pitching the starter I'll have by Saturday be way too under? I'd sooner leave off brewing this weekend if there's a chance I could ruin it by rushing things... my very first all-grain (this will be #7) was a kolsch that is pretty terrible as I massively under-pitched (old vial without a starter)... it then got stuck, and I had to pitch whatever yeast I had on-hand. I'm on the verge of dumping the 20 or so bottles I have left as it's just not being drunk with the other beers I have on hand now, & I need the bottles!!

The only other liquid yeast I've used since switching to all grain & buying the stir plate was for a saison (Wyeast 3711), don't remember the age of the smack pack, but I made a 1l starter using the same method above & it took off like a champion.

Thanks in advance :thumb:

I've only done 3 or 4 starters in the past but, once the yeast in the starter has fermented out the 100g of DME you should have a nice healthy yeast cell count for a nice fermentation. No matter if the vial was 10% viable or 100% viable.

someone correct me on this if I'm talking rubbish :)