A few noobie questions :)

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marrsy86

Regular.
Reaction score
Hi guys,

Im pretty new to this and have a few noobie questions of some of the terms user on the forum and would appreciate it if someone could point me in the right direction :)

1. I see the word "clove" in a number of recipies but what exactly is it reffering to ?
2. I worked out TC is Turbo Cider but does WOW mean Worzles Orange Wine as I cant find much else that matches.
3. I want to try my hand at some mead and would like to know if you think this honey would be ok as I have read some may not be suitable...

http://www.tesco.com/groceries/Product/Details/?id=258158216

Many thanks for anyhelp.

Marrsy.

Hi and welcome.

I can answer some questions for you.

You are coreect that TC is Turbo Cider and WOW is indeed Wurzels Orange Wine

There is a Glossary here glossary.php

A clove is a spice, you can get them in the herbs and spices section of all supermarkets.

I know nothing about making mead though, hopefully someone else does.

1. Are you sure you mean clove and not clone? A clove is a spice (or a segment of a garlic bulb, but I can't imagine many homebrew uses for that) and a clone is an attempt to replicate a commercial brew.

3. I'm not a mead expert either, but I have used clear ‘value’ honeys quite successfully.

As Mr. Mole says, it will work no doubt, but normally the better the ingredients the better the result ;)
Mead is often made from the wash water used to clean honey from the wax comb cappings. A fair few bee keepers throw this down the drain :( Mead is not everyones bag, so do you know any bee keepers. :)
May well be worth a trial with the value stuff to see how it goes.
My options / recommendations would be TC and WOW, after beer that is :lol: but it depends what you like to drink ?
S

Springer said: