Advice please.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Connor

Reaction score
Hi all,

Complete novice here, first time. Was gifted the home brew equipment and a st peters IPA box as a birthday present a few days ago.

I pitched the yeast about 46 hours ago and there's no bubbling yet, although the lid does look quite swollen and if I push it down it bubbles, just not occuring by itself. I pitched at 25°c which I know is a bit high but it was getting late and I had work early the next morning. The temperature of the room it's in may also be a bit low. I haven't opened it up yet to check temp or anything as I didn't know if I should. I also didn't take a gravity reading at the start (I know I should have), but I was getting concerned with the amount of time the lid had been opened and the time since sanitising as I stupidly decided to use filtered water and it took me longer than I would have liked to filter all the water. Bad prep I know. So at that point I just wanted to get things going.

Basically, should I be concerned? Or is the swollen lid a hopeful sign? Is there anything you'd suggest to salvage it? Or is it a lost cause?

any advice welcome.

cheers!

If you have this in a plastic bucked (FV) it may not be 100% airtight and the co2 is escaping through the lid seal rather than airlock a hydrometer is the only way to know for sure if it's fermenting.
Give it a week then take a reading leave it a few more days and do the same again.

If you have this in a plastic bucked (FV) it may not be 100% airtight and the co2 is escaping through the lid seal rather than airlock a hydrometer is the only way to know for sure if it's fermenting.
Give it a week then take a reading leave it a few more days and do the same again.
Thank you. Yes it's in a plastic bucket.
So you'd avoid opening it now and taking a reading?